Selectmen meet the 1st, 3rd and 5th Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m

All meetings are held at the Community Center located at 57 Anson Road, Starks Maine

Joe Hayden

March 2023 


Ernie Hilton

March 2021 


Paul Frederic

March 2022 



sil- woman.png
Jennifer Zweig Hebert

Town Clerk & 

Tax Collector

office 696-8069/cell 578-0341

Monday: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Wednesday:  3:00 pm - 7:00 pm

First Saturday of each month

8 am to 11 am

sil- woman.png
Erin Norton



Wednesdays 5 - 7 pm

Leo Mayo

Code Enforcement &

Plumbing Inspector


First and third Wednesdays of month 3 pm to 6 pm

Board of Assessors 
3-year terms

Joseph Hayden: (March 2023) 431-5471

Maryanne Gawlinski (March 2022) 778-2327

Cathleen Horner: (March 2021) 491-2846

Assessors meet every Thursday evening at 7 p.m.

Planning Board
5-year terms

Chair: Gwen Hilton, Chair: (April 2025) 399-9866


Joe Hartigan (April 2024)

Claire Nelson (May 2023)

Ken Lust (April 2025)

John Newsom (May 2023)

L Eric Hoar (April 2025)

Planning Board meets the first Wednesday of the month at 6:30 p.m. as needed.

Appeals Board
(5-year terms)

Chair: George Martikke, Chair: (Sept. 2020) 696-3889


Sara Brusila (Sept. 2021)

Carol Coles (Sept. 2022)

Maryanne Gawlinski, (Sept. 2022)

Jared Norton (Sept. 2024).


Board of Appeals meets as needed.

Budget Committee
1-year terms

Carol Coles

David Gray

Ken Lust

John Newsom

Ashley Hayden


Budget Committee meets as needed.

Agricultural Commission 
3-year terms

(Chair) (March 2022)  


Ernie Hilton (March 2021);

Jay Robinson (March 2021);

Scot Adams (March 2023);

Billie Jo Krebs, alt. (March 2023)

Bill Pressey, alt. (March 2022)

Agricultural Commission meets monthly (summer, as needed). 

Community Center Building Committee

Chair: Carol Coles  631-8460


Paul Frederic

Maryanne Gawlinski

Jenn Hebert

Jon Hull

Nancy Lagin

Linda LaRose

Ken Lust

Erin Norton

Jared Norton

Building Committee meets quarterly on the third Thursday of the month at 7 p.m.

Library Board of Directors and Committee

Chair: Maryanne Gawlinski, Chair (e-mail: 778-2327


Linda LaRose

Nancy Lagin

Jon Hull (Committee member, only)

Library Committee/Board of Directors meet every second Thursday of the month at 5:30 p.m.

Book Club

Joe McCarthy 778-2327


Usually meets the first Tuesday of the month at 7 p.m. at the Starks Library.

Fire Department

Fire Chief (1-year appt.): Bill Pressey 399-0199

Burn Permits


Fire Permits may be obtained (weather permitting) from Starks Fire Department personnel

Bill Pressey 399-0199

David Gray 203-499-7320

Chip Irvine 592-5311

Other Town Officials

Town Clerk (3-year term ending March 2022): Jenn Zweig Hebert 696-8069

Tax Collector (3-year term ending March 2021): Jenn Zweig Hebert 696-8069

Registrar of Voters (2-year term ending Jan. 2022): Jenn Zweig Hebert 696-8069

Town Treasurer (3-year term ending March 2023): Erin Norton 399-6321

Fire Chief: Bill Pressey 399-0199

Fire Warden - David Gray (203-499-7320)

9-1-1 Addressing Officer (1-year appt.): Leo Mayo 696-8069 0r 566-7341

Animal Control Officer (1-year appt.): Danielle Pressey 399-1399

Code Enforcement Officer and Plumbing Inspector (1-year appt.): Leo Mayo 696-8069 0r 474-1575

Health Officer (3-year appt.): Leo Mayo (696-8069) 0r  566-7341

RSU #9 School Board Director (3-year term ending June 30, 2021): Carol Coles 631-8460

Starks Water District: Joe Hartigan 317-0166 

Community Building Superintendent (1-year appt): Bill Pressey 399-0199

Town Sexton: Bill Pressey 399-0199

Emergency Management Director: Bill Pressey 399-0199

Road Commissioners: (Board of Selectmen, see above)

Road Foreman (vacant)